<< Back

How much is a DUI in Minnesota?

Tonya Hinkemeyer

The costs associated with a DUI in Minnesota vary depending upon the seriousness of the offense.  The average cost of a first-time, misdemeanor DUI can cost several thousands of dollars.  In addition to attorney’s fees, there are costs you will incur as a result of the case in criminal court, as well as costs involved in re-instating your driver’s license, which is a separate, civil matter.  In a criminal charge for a misdemeanor DUI, you should expect to pay a fine to the court in the amount of approximately $500 plus surcharges and fees, an assessment fee of approximately $125,  a probationary fee of approximately $150,  and a MADD panel fee of approximately $50.

In your civil claim to re-instate your driver license, you should expect to pay a re-instatement fee of approximately $700.  Depending upon the amount of time you lose your license, you may also have to pay for a limited license, which is approximately $30, or pay to have the ignition interlock installed in your vehicle.  The cost of the ignition interlock depends upon the number of months you will have it installed in your vehicle.  The typical installation charge for the ignition interlock is approximately $125.  After installation, there is a monthly fee of approximate $100 to have the ignition interlock in your vehicle.

These cost figures are estimates you can consider if you have been charged with a misdemeanor DUI.  If your offense is a gross misdemeanor or felony DUI, these costs increase significantly and range anywhere from $7,500 to $12,000 or more.

© 2017 All Rights Reserved Rinke Noonan Ltd.